Aug 08, 2020
Graphic provided by ASI

ASI holds installation without president, executive vice president fills in

The Fresno State Associated Students Inc. (ASI) held its 2020-21 installation ceremony for the 19 elected student body officials on June 1, 2020.

Of the 19 appointed positions, one was noticeably absent from the ceremony —the position of ASI president.

Due to the recent disqualification of president-elect Ruby Muñiz for violating the ASI code of ethics, an election will be held between presidential candidates Naila Estrada and Elizabteh Rocha Zuñiga Sept. 28-30 and will be finalized on Oct. 21.

Until the election is finalized in October, newly appointed Executive Vice President (EVP) Hisham Qutob will serve as the chair of the student senate and will also be fulfilling the duties of interim president.

The decision was made during the ASI meeting held after the installation, where Qutob was voted to carry the position of EVP by the senators. This is a role Qutob held from 2019-20.

Along with Qutob, the other executive officials sworn in were Vice President of External Affairs Fidel Moreno-Meza and Vice President of Finance Nicholas L. Moore.

Senators of colleges include; Stephanie Ramos Alcantar for the College of Arts and Humanities; Narek Khatchikian for the Craig School of Business; Anthony Camacho for the Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology; Laila Elreedi for the Kremen School of Education; Haya Qutob for the Lyles College of Engineering; Mandeep Kaur for the College of Science and Mathematics and Samantha K. Bautista for the College of Social Sciences.

For the senator at-large positions and appointments, they include: Taj Harris for Athletics and Recreation; NaLee Xiong for Clubs and Organizations; Fernando Garcia for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion; Malakeh Jaber for Greek Affairs; Karen Carillo for Resident Affairs; Allison Bacani for Student Affairs; Jason Vang for Sustainability; Navleen Brar for Undergraduate/Graduate Affairs; and Sam Smith for Transfer and Veteran Affairs.

The position of senator of parking and safety was left vacant due to one of the elected at-large members decommitting from a senator position due to conflicting schedules.

Also voted upon were the ASI committee appointments listed below:

Bolded names serve as chair of committee based on ASI bylaws

Academics Committee: Navleen Brar, Mandeep Kaur, vacant

Activities Committee:  Allison Bacani, Samantha Bautista, Stephanie Ramos Alcantar

Diversity, Equity and Inclusivity Committee: Fernando Garcia, Laila Elreedi, Karen Carillo

Finance Committee: Nicholas Moore, Narek Khatchikian, NaLee Xiong

Legal Committee: Anthony Camacho, Sam Smith, Taj Harris

Legislative Committee: Fidel Moreno-Meza, Malakeh Jaber, vacant

Personnel Committee: Haya Qutob, Hisham Qutob, Jason Vang

Previous Story Mountain West approves in-person workouts and several cost-containment measures article thumbnail mt-3

Mountain West approves in-person workouts and several cost-containment measures

Next Story Activism is not a competition article thumbnail mt-3

Activism is not a competition