May 30, 2020

Bulldogs honored for academic success at annual Kiwanis dinner

At the Kiwanis Torch of Excellence Dinner Monday evening, 250 student athletes were honored for academic honors.

Twelve student-athletes were recognized for their perfect GPAs. In this largest annual awards ceremony hosted by Fresno State’s athletic department, awards were given to Bulldogs for their courage, spirit and athletic success, as well as academic achievement.

Athletes from men’s golf, men’s tennis, equestrian, track and field, football, volleyball, women’s basketball and soccer were recognized as “torchlighters” for their exemplification of what a scholar-athlete should be. These students must letter in two of the past three years, maintain eligibility and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above.

Volleyball player Cheryl Selenak and men’s golf standout Gunnar Avinelis were awarded the George Ilg Memorial Award as graduating seniors for their academic and athletic prowess, as well as their service to the community.

Four students were also recognized as nominees for the Stan Bates award, named after a former WAC Commissioner. The nominees were Jakub Cech, Zinzi Evans, Rochelle Jagdeo and Ryan Moore.

The Bulldog Foundation recognized Bulldogs kicker Clint Stitser as the top student-athlete in the Craig School of Business.

Fellow football player Cole Popovich was awarded the Paul Schecter Courage award for overcoming injuries, such as the ones he
sustained in the game against Washington. Popovich was out for four games.

Students who qualify for the Dean’s list for two consecutive semesters, letter and maintain their eligibility qualify for the Harold Haak scholarship. This year’s recipients were equestrienne Heather Billings and the Diamond Dogs’ Steve Susdorf.

Bulldog Spirit awards were also given to the students of all class levels who are the embodiment of Bulldogs spirit. This year Moore, Jacqueline Haskett, Katey Sellers and Moses Harris were recognized for their Bulldogs pride. The Bulldogs Spirit Awards and Outstanding Professor Awards were new this year and established by the Student Athlete Advisory Council.

Previous Story

Students utilize Fresno Grizzlies intern program

Next Story

Bulldogs ready to make long run