ASI President Demi Wack, Vice President of External Affairs Primavera Martinez, Senator of the College of Arts and Humanities Hunter Sansom, Senator of the Craig School of Business Alondra Salazar, Jordan College Senator Jackie Taylor and Kremen School of Education Senator Alexandra Chavez are sworn into office Associated Students, Inc for the 2018-19 year. (Dan Waterhouse/The Collegian)

ASI President Demi Wack Promises ‘Change’ During Installment Ceremony

Incoming Associated Students, Inc. President Demi Wack and her fellow executive officers were officially sworn into office on Friday. The new members of the ASI senate were also sworn in during the annual ceremony held at the Satellite Student Union.

The new officers and senators were introduced to the audience by Luis Sepulveda, ASI volunteer coordinator, and Maci Steinhauer, ASI office coordinator, and were then sworn in by retired appellate justice and state Senator Charles Poochigian. In brief remarks after the swearing-in, he challenged the brand-new student representatives with doing their jobs with humility and integrity.

Sworn in were Wack; Ben Warmerdam, the Vice President of Finance; Primavera Martinez, the Vice President of External Affairs; Hunter Sansom, the Senator for the College of Arts and Humanities; Alondra Salazar, the Senator for the Craig School of Business; Jacqueline Taylor, the Senator for the Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology; Alexandra Chavez, the Senator for the Kremen School of Education; Lemuel Rivera, the Senator for the College of Science and Mathematics; Jordan Cody, Claire Copher, Marisa Chavez, Bryce Johnson, Elias Karam, Ruby Muniz, Elizabeth Zuniga and Baltripat Singh, all Senators-at-large.

Nour Basharaheel, the Senator for the College of Health and Human Services; Excel Espino, the Senator for the College of Social Sciences; and Sarid Morales, a senator-at-large, were unable to attend the ceremony and will be sworn in later.

Wack spoke just before the first senate meeting of the 2018-19 academic year began. She first thanked everyone, especially the ASI alumni, for attending the installment ceremony. She then warned the attendees “this year will not be easy” and “we need to make change on campus to have a successful year.”

There were several items on the meeting agenda, including committee assignments and the summer break meeting schedule. The most important item scheduled, however, was the election of the Executive Vice President. Karam was selected as the Executive Vice President by the senate.

Copher was named Senator of Undergraduate and Graduate Affairs; Muniz was selected as the Senator of Athletics and Recreation; Morales was named Senator of Clubs and Organizations; Johnson was selected to be the Senator of Greek Affairs; Zuniga was selected as the Senator of Resident Affairs; Chavez was named as Senator of Student Affairs; Singh was selected to be the Senator of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion; and Cody was named as Senator of Veterans and Transfer Affairs. No one was selected to fill the Senator of Parking and Safety position.